Skip To Content


Featuring cross-campus representation

 Faculty, staff and students from across campus are working to transition the university from a quarter calendar to a semester schedule. The Semester Conversion Director leads the Steering Committee in developing, implementing and monitoring the campus plan. 

Seven subcommittees have been identified in Administrative Services, Advising, Communications, Curriculum Coordination, Enrollment Services, Faculty Affairs and Information Technology. Special care will be taken to include students throughout the process.

Learn more about the committees: 

Steering Committee


Steering Committee

Responsible for developing, implementing, and monitoring achievement of a coordinated and comprehensive campus-based plan for conversion from quarter to semester.  The committee shall be convened and led by the Semester Conversion Director. More information about faculty Assigned Time Distribution is available.

Membership (total 23)

Conversion Director, Chair of Committee
Project Manager
Chair of Academic Senate
At-large students (2)
At-large university staff member
At-large academic dean
At-large faculty members (2)
Co-chairs of conversion subcommittees

 back to top


Administrative Services – oversee the modification of campus business and administrative service systems, including review of policies, procedures, schedules, etc.
Co-Chairs: Associate Chief Financial Officer, Chair of Senate Budget Committee

Advising – develop and oversee a comprehensive strategy for supporting and advising students
Co-Chairs: Director of Academic Support and Learning Services, faculty member of Advising Task Force

Communications – maintain ongoing up-to-date communication with internal and external audiences using multiple media
Co-Chairs: Executive Director of Public Affairs, faculty member

Curriculum Coordination – oversee curriculum conversion across academic units, including review of policies, procedures, schedules, etc.; identify units with coinciding and/or conflicting interests and facilitate cross-college consultation
Co-Chairs: Associate Dean, Chair of Senate Academic Programs Committee, Chair of the Senate General Education Committee

Curriculum Conversion will make use of existing committees and curriculum approval policies:

  • Department curriculum committees led by department curriculum coordinator
  • College curriculum committees led by college curriculum coordinator
  • Office of Academic Programs
  • University Curriculum Committee
    OR Senate Academic Programs Committee
    OR Senate General Education Committee

Enrollment Services – oversee transition of admissions, financial aid, registration and other enrollment management functions, including review of policies, procedures, schedules, etc.; develop and oversee articulation plans with community colleges
Co-Chairs: AVP for Enrollment Services, Chair of Senate Academic Affairs Committee

Faculty Affairs (existing Academic Senate Committee) – review policies and procedures for semester conversion impact|
Chair: Chair of Senate Faculty Affairs Committee

Information Technology – oversee modification of campus technology systems; coordinate with the Chancellor’s Office on integrated systems
Co-Chairs: Associate CIO for Enterprise Applications, faculty member of eLearning Advisory Board

 back to top


Do you have questions? Would you like to comment on this topic?
Please email us at Academic Calendar Conversion