Cal Poly Pomona's Campus History from the University Archives
Special Collections Home > Collections > University Archives
Special Collections Home > Gallery
 
logo
HISTORICAL PHOTOGRAPHS

 

Voorhis Chapel in San Dimas.  

voorhis chapel

Beginning in 1928 the "Chapel of the Beloved Disciple" along with other charming Spanish style buildings were constructed as part of the Voorhis School for Boys, funded by retired Nash Motor Company executive Charles B. Voorhis. More than 300 homeless and disadvantaged boys were cared for under the guidance of Headmaster H. Jerry Voorhis (son of Charles), who later represented the district for ten years in the United States Congress. In 1938 the Voorhis family gave the fully equipped school and farm to California State Polytechnic College, San Luis Obispo "in perpetuation of their interest in young people and their education along practical lines." When the Cal Poly Voorhis Unit opened in the fall of 1938 it was a men's agricultural college with 80 students and 5 faculty members. In 1956 instructional programs were moved to the present campus in Pomona, and in 1966 the campus officially separated from San Luis Obispo, becoming California's 16th state college.  

 BACK

 FORWARD


About the use of images

 
 

dropshadow

 
 

 

University Library Special Collections
Bldg 15 room 4434 •  909-869-2087 • kaerickson@cpp.edu